Weinberg Memorial Library 2013 Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize Winners

The Weinberg Memorial Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Bonnie W. Oldham Library Research Prize.

Graduate Prize

Ise Kannebecker, a student in the Family Nurse Practitioner Program, was selected as the winner of the 2013 Library Research Prize for Graduate students. Her research proposal, “Exploring the Effects of a Longer Music Listening Session on Reducing Postoperative Pain,” was submitted for N594: Theory and Research Application. In her application essay, Ise states, “Collecting the research used to build the proposal required many hours of library utilization on site at the library and at home. It was exciting to realize the availability of resources and my gratitude to the library for their helpfulness is overwhelming.” Ise’s supporting faculty member was Dr. Margarete Zalon, in the Nursing Department.

The judges selected three students to receive Honorable Mention awards in the Graduate Category-- Kristin Leccese and Christina Tripodi, Occupational Therapy majors, and Jessica Palmeri, a Marketing major, who will all graduate this year.

Undergraduate Prize

The winner chosen for the 2013 Library Research Prize for Undergraduate students was Christine Ferrari, a Nursing major with minors in Spanish and Theology/Religious Studies. The paper she submitted, “Pláticas de la presiόn arterial: Hypertension Education in the Hispanic Community,” was written in fulfillment of her Honors Project. In her application essay, Christine wrote, “The resources from the Weinberg Memorial Library … allowed me to design and implement a nursing intervention that taught Hispanic individuals about hypertension and provided them with the tools to reduce their risk for a detrimental disease.” Christine’s supporting faculty member was also Dr. Margarete Zalon, in the Nursing Department.

Honorable Mentions were also awarded to three senior undergraduate students--Bernadetta Bernatowicz, a Biology major, William Reddington, a History major, and Joseph Seemiller, a Neuroscience major.

Prize winners were honored at a reception on Thursday, May 9, 2013 in the Heritage Room of the Weinberg Memorial Library.

Scroll to Top