Teacher of the Year

Dr. Jack O’Malley: 2009 Teacher of the Year

Dr. Jack O'Malley is this year’s honoree. Congratulations!

I am an alumnus of the University of Scranton (Class of 1964). For me and for many of my classmates, the University of Scranton was the one chance to obtain a college education. We received an excellent education in the Jesuit tradition and we learned that cura personalis is more than just a notion, but a core value. We were encouraged to embrace cura personalis, carry it our careers and personal lives, and seek to enrich the lives of others. When the opportunity to return and teach at Scranton was presented, it was an easy decision for Helene and me. I have enjoyed a productive and fulfilling career of service at my Alma Mater. For Helene and me it has been a wonderful life. Five of our children have been blessed with a Scranton education. Paul Fahey, Frank Homer (two classmates who also returned to teach) and I were recently asked to speak at our 45th reunion about how the University of Scranton has changed. I choose to speak about how it has stayed the same. The hallmark of a Scranton education always has been and always will be cura personalis. John Wooden, the legendary basketball coach at UCLA, once said “They ask me why I coach/teach. Where else could I find such splendid company.” How true of the University of Scranton!

  • Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Married to wife, Helene (45 years)
  • Six children (John, Edward, Julie, Diane, Erin, Ryan) and eight grandchildren
  • Chair, Dept. of Psychology: 1977 – 1987
  • Faculty Advisor, CAS Academic Advising Center: 1987 – present
  • Introduced, along with Dr. Gary Wodder, Coaching Minor: 1988
  • University of Scranton NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative: 1987 – 1999
  • Volunteer Assistant Softball Coach, University of Scranton, 1993 – 1997; 2001 – 2006
  • Rev. Paul R. Beining Service Award (2007) for exemplary service to the student-athletes of the University of Scranton
  • Northeastern Pennsylvania Sportsman of the Year Award presented by the Scranton Life Underwriters (1992) in recognition for contributions to youth sport and in particular for promoting sportsmanship and fair play
  • Alpha Sigma Nu (1977) citation recognized contributions to youth sport
  • Chairman, Bochicchio Sport Character Initiative (present)
  • Eucharistic Minister, St. Paul’s RC Church, Scranton
  • CCD instructor, 2001 – 2008
  • A poem I wrote, “Prince of Peace,“ was set to music by Benjamin Kapilow and performed at Noel Night, December, 2008, thanks to Cheryl Boga. It was a really nice moment for our family.
  • Member of the University of Scranton Wellness Committee (2007 – present)

Voting Information


2010 University of Scranton Teacher of the Year Award

Each Year the Graduating Senior Class selects its “Teacher of the Year.” Graduating seniors please cast your vote for the faculty member who you believe exhibits the following characteristics:

  1. Maintains the highest standards of academic excellence and fairness.
  2. Inspires interest in the discipline through personal enthusiasm and dedication.
  3. Is consistently effective in communication.
  4. Is available outside the classroom.

The award will be presented during Class Night on Friday, May 28th, 2010

How to vote: Electronic voting will take place during the week of Grad Finale. To cast your electronic ballot access www.scranton.edu/toy.

When to vote: Voting will begin Monday, April 19, 9:00am and continue through Friday, April 23, 5:00pm.

Your Vote Counts!
Remember a faculty member whose teaching has inspired you.

Past Recipients

The Teacher of the Year Award is presented each year in May during the week of “Grad Finale.”

  • Fr. Ron McKinney, S.J. (2008)
  • Dr. Daniel V. Fraustino (2007)
  • Dr. William J. Parente (2006)
  • Dr. Michael Sulzinski (2005)
  • Dr. Kathleen Montgomery (2004)
  • Dr. William Rowe (2003)
  • Dr. Michael D. DeMichele (2002)
  • Dr. Daniel P. Mahoney (2001)
  • Dr. Thomas P. Hogan (2000)
  • Dr. Gary E. Mattingly (1999)
  • Dr. Richard J. Klonoski (1998)
  • Dr. E. Springs Steele (1997)
Scroll to Top