Phi Alpha Theta


Congratulations, 2023 Phi Alpha Theta Inductees!

In photo from left to right. Patrick O'Malley, Nadia Wohlgemuth, Dr. Susan Poulson, Clara Downey, Selene Lopez, Michael Quinnan, Paul Kuipers, not pictured: Steven Gasperini


Mu-Rho Chapter

Membership Roll

Phi Alpha Theta is the national honor society in History founded in 1921. Sponsored by the Department of History, The University of Scranton’s Mu Rho Chapter was founded on May 14, 1967.

To be eligible students must complete at least 15 credits in History with grades in those courses averaging 3.5, an overall GPA of 3.5 or higher, and an average that falls within the top 35% of their class, calculated by University-wide class rank. Only three credit hours of online, transfer, or AP credits can be applied to the membership requirement.

During the Spring Semester each year, students who meet eligibility requirements are invited to apply. Those accepted into membership are honored at an annual dinner where they receive their certificates and honor cords as part of an induction ceremony.

The moderator of the Mu-Rho Chapter is Dr. Susan Poulson.

Scroll to Top