The Pedro Arrupe, S.J. Award

About the Award

The University of Scranton created the Arrupe Award in 1995 to recognize persons who have furthered in a significant way the Ignatian mission. Recipients are chosen both for the Ignatian vision which they bring to their ministry and their outstanding contributions to the Ignatian mission. The award is named for the late Very Rev. Pedro Arrupe, S.J., the 28th Superior General of the Society of Jesus. Father Arrupe articulated a dynamic vision of the Ignatian mission and its ministry for contemporary times. Under his leadership, the Jesuits and all those who serve in Ignatian ministries came to understand afresh their labors as service to God, to the Church and to the world. Father Arrupe expressed in word and example qualities of spiritual depth, religious devotion, generous service and commitment to a faith that acts for justice. These qualities shape the variety of ministry that can be called “Ignatian.”

Past Recipients

Year  Recipient
1995 Monika Hellwig, Ph.D
1996 Rev. Vincent T. O'Keefe, S.J.
1997 Rev. Royden B. Davis, S.J.
1998 Rev. Paul Reinert, S.J.
1999 Dr. Dorothy M. Brown
2001 Ms. Kathleen Haser
2002 Rev. Paul L. Locatelli, S.J.
2003 David J. O'Brien, Ph.D and Sister Maureen A. Fay, OP
2004 Rev. William Currie, S.J.
2005 Rev. Joseph A. O'Hare, S.J.
2006 Rev. George Coyne, S.J.
2007 Don Kerwin and Rev. Angelo D'Agostino, S.J.
2008 Rev. Kenneth J. Gavin, S.J and Suzanne Geaney
2009 Rev. John P. Foley, S.J and Mary Baudouin
2010 Rev. Dean Brackley, S.J.
2011 Rev. Gregory J. Boyle, S.J.
2012 Stephanie J. Russell
2013 Kino Border Initiative
2014 Msgr. Joseph P. Kelly, M.S.W.
2015 Sr. Margaret O'Neil, S.C.
2016 Friends of the Poor
2018 The Diocese of Scranton 150th Anniversary
2019 Kathleen Sprows Cummings, Ph.D
2020-2021 Fr. Rick Malloy, S.J.
2023 Sister Nathalie Becquart
2024 Sister Elizabeth Johnson, C.S.J.


Scroll to Top