Carnegie Classification

About The Carnegie Classification

Since 1970, The Carnegie Classification has been a framework for recognizing and describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education. Carnegie Classifications are derived from analysis of data on colleges and universities. The first Carnegie Classification was originally published in 1973, and updated in 1976, 1987, 1994, 2000, 2005, 2010, 2015, and 2018 to reflect changes among colleges and universities. The Carnegie Classification is not a ranking of institutions, rather a way for institutions to be grouped into categories based on similar data profiles. One of the main data points is the number of degrees granted by degree type (for example, baccalaureate, master's or doctoral). Read more about the Carnegie Classification here.

The University of Scranton's Carnegie Classification

The University of Scranton holds the "Master's - Larger Programs" basic classification. This 2018 classification is derived from the number of degrees granted at the master's level, drawing from 2016-2017 IPEDS data. Generally, institutions granting more than 50 master's degrees are fewer than 20 doctoral degress during the update year are included in this category. The University also holds the elective Community Engagement Classification.

The table below lists the full details of the University's classification.

University of Scranton

Scranton, Pennsylvania

Level 4-year or above
Control Private not-for-profit
Student Population (Fall 2017) 5,373

Classification Category
Basic Master's Colleges & Universities: Larger Programs
Undergraduate Instructional Program: Professions plus arts & sciences, some graduate coexistence
Graduate Instructional Program: Postbaccalaureate: Business-dominant, with Arts & Sciences
Enrollment Profile: High undergraduate
Undergraduate Profile: Four-year, full-time, more selective, lower transfer-in
Size and Setting: Four-year, medium, highly residential
Classification Category
Community Engagement: Classified or reclassified in 2010 or 2015 through the Brown University Swearer Center for Public Service
Scroll to Top