Faculty

Headshot of Timothy Cadigan, S.J.

Timothy Cadigan, S.J.

Assistant Professor

timothy.cadigan@scranton.edu
LSC 371
570-941-4348

Responses of the immune system to malaria infection and how these responses change during pregnancy. Changes in the micro-architecture of the placenta brought about by presence of, and stresses induced by, malarial infection. Faculty Student Research Program (FSRP): Effects of acid mine drainage on the ethic micro communities in the Lackawanna River.

Works as a Catholic priest on campus and in the diocese of Scranton, Celebration of the Sacraments, Spiritual Direction and Counseling. Co-moderator of the Students for Life Club.

Headshot of Kathleen Dwyer

Kathleen Dwyer

Professor; BCMB Program Co-Director

Kathleen.Dwyer@scranton.edu
LSC 352
570-941-6386

Analysis and manipulation of genes involved in pollination, fertilization and development of the plant Arabidopsis thalania.

Dr. Dwyer is Co-Director of the Catholic Studies program, and Co-Director of Biochemistry, Cell & Molecular Biology (BCMB) program

Headshot of Tara Fay

Tara Fay

Faculty Specialist

tara.fay@scranton.edu
LSC 254
570-941-4395

Coordinator of the Human Anatomy and Physiology Laboratories (BIOL 110L/111L) and instructor in Human Anatomy and Physiology (BIOL 110/111), General Physiology Laboratory (BIOL 245L), and Extreme Physiology (BIOL 395). Prof. Fay also is an Assessment Fellow in the Office of Educational Assessment

Headshot of George Gomez

George Gomez

Associate Professor

george.gomez@scranton.edu
LSC 395
570-941-6355

Olfaction (avian and human); nerve cell growth and function in vitro; cellular effects of hypoxia and hyperoxia

Core faculty for Neuroscience, BCMB, and Asian Studies Program; served as the project shepherd for the Loyola Science Center construction

Headshot of Michael Hardisky

Michael Hardisky

Professor

michael.hardisky@scranton.edu
LSC 394
570-941-7514

Remote sensing, wetlands ecology, production of greenhouse gases (methane and CO2) from globally significant wet biomes.

Headshot of Christopher Howey

Christopher Howey

Assistant Professor

christopher.howey@scranton.edu
LSC 251
570-941-7544

Dr. Howey's research focuses on understanding how landscape disturbances affect reptile and amphibian ecology and physiology. Following a disturbance to preferred habitat characteristics, how does this affect behaviors, habitat use, performance, stress levels and individual fitness? Dr. Howey's teaching incorporates classes covering these same fields of study, as he teaches Ecology (BIOL 371), Science and the Human Environment (NSCI 201), General Physiology (BIOL 245), Cellular and Integrative Physiology (PSIO 320), and Biostatistics (BIOL 379).

Headshot of Gary Kwiecinski

Gary Kwiecinski

Professor

gary.kwiecinski@scranton.edu
LSC 292
570-941-6387

Reproductive endocrinology and physiological adaptations of vertebrates, especially mammals; bats biology and biogeography in the Carribean.

Headshot of Vincent Marshall

Vincent Marshall

Faculty Specialist

vincent.marshall@scranton.edu
LSC 291
570-941-5439

Dr. Marshall is Coordinator of General Biology Laboratories (BIOL 141L/142L) and an instructor in General Biology, General Physiology Laboratory (BIOL 245L), and Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy Laboratory (BIOL 241L).

Headshot of Anne Royer

Anne Royer

Assistant Professor

anne.royer@scranton.edu
LSC 351
570-941-7469

Dr. Royer investigates the evolutionary ecology of interspecific interactions, primarily plant-pollinator systems. Her work utilizes diverse tools, from quantitative genetics and population genomics to community ecology, to understand how biological diversity is produced and maintained. Dr. Royer teaches General Biology (BIOL 141/142), Science and the Human Environment (NSCI 201), Evolution (BIOL 375) and Biostatistics (BIOL 379).

Headshot of Marc Seid

Marc Seid

Associate Professor

marc.seid@scranton.edu
LSC 274
570-941-7970

Behavioral neurobiology and brain morphology in ants.

Headshot of Robert Smith

Robert Smith

Professor; Environmental Science Program Co-Director

robert.smith@scranton.edu
LSC 252
570-941-6581

Plant/animal migration; behavior, ecology, ecophysiology and conservation of Nearctic/Neotropical landbird migrants; physiological linkages between phases of an organism's annual life cycle.

Headshot of Matthew Socha

Matthew Socha

Assistant Professor

matthew.socha@scranton.edu
LSC 272
570-941-4076

Dr. Socha’s research highlights the role of endothelial cell calcium signaling in regulating blood flow to skeletal muscle in normal and disease states, with the goal of integrating studies on microvascular endothelial cell calcium signaling during normal function as well as deficits observed during cardiovascular disease with changes in in vitro functional data. Utilizing microvessels (no bigger than a hair!) from mice, Dr. Socha investigates the mechanisms that underlie how blood flow is directed and distributed to skeletal muscle in the body. Dr. Socha teaches General Biology Lecture (BIOL 141/142), General Physiology Lecture and Laboratory (BIOL 245/245L), and Cellular and Integrative Physiology Lecture and Laboratory (PSIO 320/320L).

Dr. Socha is Faculty Advisor for the Biology Club and the Tri-Beta Biology Honor Society.

Headshot of Jong-Hyun Son

Jong-Hyun Son

Assistant Professor

jong-hyun.son@scranton.edu
LSC 372
570-941-6216

Dr. Son's research focuses on mechanisms of neurodevelopment and diseases related to dysfunctional development. Using a zebrafish model, he currently employs cellular and molecular strategies to study the genetics and logic of brain connectivity (e.g., axon pathfinding and synaptic connectivity) and diseases of development, particularly prematurity, hypoxia, and cerebral palsy. Dr. Son teaches General Biology Lecture (BIOL 141), Genetics Lecture (BIOL 260), Neuroscience Research Literature Seminar (NEUR 111), and Neuroscience Research Methods (NEUR 330).

Headshot of Maria Squire

Maria Squire

Associate Professor

maria.squire@scranton.edu
LSC 253
570-941-4742

Bone biology, Influence of genetics and gender on bone and skeletal mechanosensitivity.

Dr. Squire is Faculty Advisor for Alpha Epsilon Delta.

Headshot of Michael Sulzinski

Michael Sulzinski

Professor

michael.sulzinski@scranton.edu
LSC 355
570-941-4306

Molecular biology of viruses and bacteria, particularly of plant pathogens.

Core faculty of BCMB

Headshot of Terrence Sweeney

Terrence Sweeney

Professor; Department Chair; Physiology Program Director

terrence.sweeney@scranton.edu
LSC 275
570-941-7623

Cardiovascular and microvascular physiology; cardiovascular modeling; Extreme Physiology travel course.

Headshot of Janice Voltzow

Janice Voltzow

Professor

janice.voltzow@scranton.edu
LSC 255
570-941-4378

Invertebrate functional morphology, focusing mainly on gastropod molluscs. Marine Biology.

Core faculty for Latin American Studies.

Headshot of Robert Waldeck

Robert Waldeck

Associate Professor; Neuroscience Program Director

robert.waldeck@scranton.edu
LSC 273
570-941-4324

Neural basis of behavior; modification of synapses and neural circuits under normal and injured conditions.

Dr. Waldeck is Program Director of the Neuroscience Program. He also is part of the core faculty for Neuroscience.

Headshot of Natalie Wentz

Natalie Wentz

Lecturer

natalie.wentz@scranton.edu
LSC 375
570-941-6217

Teaches Human Anatomy & Physiology and General Physiology Laboratory

Staff

Headshot of Michele Langan

Michele Langan

Administrative Assistant

michele.langan@scranton.edu
LSC 235
570-941-6117
Headshot of Renee Giovagnioli

Renee Giovagnioli

Biology Laboratory Supervisor, Acting Science Center Building Manager

renee.giovagnioli@scranton.edu
LSC 391
570-941-7558