Events & Exhibits - Fall 2000

2000 Distinguished Author Award

Two of the country's most popular writers, Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter Carol Higgins Clark, will receive the 2000 Distinguished Author Award from the Friends of the Weinberg Memorial Library at The University of Scranton.
Mary Higgins Clark, after the sudden death of her husband in 1964, began her writing career with radio scripts and short stories. Her first suspense novel, Where Are the Children?, marked a turning point in her career.
More than 20 million copies of her books are in print in the United States alone, and many have been made into films or television movies. Her works include A Stranger Is Watching, The Cradle Will Fall, I'll Be Seeing You, Remember Me, Let Me Call You Sweetheart, Moonlight Becomes You and We'll Meet Again. Her latest book, Before I Say Good-bye, was published in April.
Mary Higgins Clark received an honorary degree and was The University's Undergraduate Commencement speaker in 1995. 
Mary Higgins Clark
Carol Higgins Clark has penned several best-selling mystery novels, including Decked, Snagged, Iced and Twanged. All of the books, which feature the character Regan Reilly, have been New York Times best sellers, and Decked was nominated for both an Agatha and Anthony award for best first novel. Carol Higgins Clark is also an actress who has starred in television, film and theater productions, including the 1992 television movie "A Cry in the Night," based on her mother's novel.
Carol Higgins Clark
A Meet the Authors reception and the Distinguished Author Award will be presented on Saturday, September 23rd at 5:30 pm in the Byron Recreation Center. A book signing is also being planned.
For ticked information, please contact 941-7816.
Mr. Jack Palance, the Emmy, Oscar and Golden Globe-winning actor and author, received the inaugural Distinguished Author Award in 1997. Malachy McCourt received the award in 1999.
Charles E. Kratz
Pride, Passion, Promise: Experience Our Jesuit Tradition