Information Update - Fall 2007

Dean Kratz Elected to ALA Executive Board

Charles E. Kratz, Dean of the Weinberg Memorial Library and Information Fluency, has been elected to serve a three-year term on the American Library Association Executive Board. The 13-member Board manages the affair of the Association. Election to the Executive Board recognizes significant contributions to and experience within the library profession.
In 1982, Jane returned to the Library to begin an innovative (for the time) job sharing position as evening public service librarian, working two weekday evenings and Friday or Sunday. Jane stayed in this position until 1988, when she cycled into a full time position in Acquisitions. When Professor Siao retired in 1993, Jane assumed the Head of Serials role.
Dean Kratz is currently serving his third term on the ALA Council and is chair of the ALA Nominating Committee for the 2007 election. He has held leadership positions in the New Members Round Table and the Association of College and Research Libraries and has chaired several ALA committees and juries, inDean Kratzcluding the Beta Phi Mu Award Jury, the ALA Awards Committee, and the H. W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant Jury. Kratz was a divisional representative to the ALA Executive Director Search Committee for two years and a member of the 2003 Lippincott Award Jury. He is also president of the Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium Inc. Board of Trustees and a member of the Northeastern Pennsylvania Library Network Board of Directors. He has also served as president of the Board of Trustees of PALINET, the member-owned and governed regional library network serving the Mid-Atlantic region; the Members Council of the Online Computer Library Center, a nonprofit, membership-based computer library service and research organization; and the Library Administration and Management Association.
Pride, Passion, Promise: Experience Our Jesuit Tradition