Teacher of the Year

Dr. Ronald Deitrick Ph.D.  : 2013 Teacher of the Year

Dr. Ronald Deitrick is this year’s honoree. Congratulations!

Ronald W. Deitrick, Ph.D., FACSM received his undergraduate degree in Philosophy from Villanova University where he was on the Dean’s List and President’s List for academic distinction and served as Captain, number one player of the varsity tennis team.  He was the first varsity tennis player to represent Villanova at the NCAA division one tennis championships.  He earned his Ph.D. in Exercise Physiology from University of Maryland while serving as a part of the Emergency Medical Services for the State of Maryland and as a cardiac technician at the Department of Justice in Washington, D.C.  Dr. Deitrick has been a member of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) for more than 35 years and was elected a Fellow of ACSM in 1989, inducted by Lyle Micheli, M.D. (Harvard University Medical School).  Only about 5% of the more than 20,000 worldwide members of ACSM have the distinction of being honored as a Fellow.  The distinction is in recognition of accomplishments in research and contributions to ACSM.  He served as President of the largest regional chapter of ACSM and has been a presenter at more than 25 of ACSM’s scientific meetings.  His past professional experiences have included serving:  as a clinical physiologist for VA Medical Center conducting research related to spinal cord injury, cardiac rehab, dialysis, and obesity; on the Executive Board of Directors for the NEPA American Heart Association for 5 years (received volunteer of the year award in 2003); reviewer for more than 10 different professional journals and an invited grant reviewer for NIH (Disability and Rehabilitation Research); and, as a performance physiology consultant to several professional sports teams and elite/world class athletes.

As a faculty member of The University of Scranton (joined the faculty in 1998), Dr. Deitrick was responsible for developing the academic program in Exercise Science and has served as its Program Director since 1998.  He currently teaches in the areas of Exercise Physiology (including Advanced Exercise Physiology and Clinical Exercise Physiology) and Research Methods.  Dr. Deitrick served as a member of University Honors Council and as honors thesis chair for 11 students; mentored over 25 students who have presented at the Annual University Student Scholarship Day; and under his guidance, 31 University of Scranton students have presented research at national (28) and regional scientific meetings.  He previously received awards for minority mentoring, teaching students with disabilities, and is listed in Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers, having been nominated by a University of Scranton student.  He is a recipient the College of Professional Studies Leahy Award (2005-07) for teaching, research, and service.  Dr. Deitrick’s classes are a reflection of his philosophy and dedication to teaching and mentoring.  He emphasizes engaged, applied thinking; believes education is a journey driven best by questions and thinking; encourages the application of concepts and facts; and teaches that science is common sense at its best.  His door is always open to students whether the discussion is about class material or the best career path. 

The Teacher of the Year Award is presented each year in May during the week of “Grad Finale.”

Teacher of the Year Award

Each year the Graduating Senior Class selects its "Teacher of the Year." Graduating seniors please cast your vote for the faculty member who you believe exhibits the following characteristics:

  1. Maintains the highest standards of academic excellence and fairness.
  2. Inspires interest in the discipline through personal enthusiasm and dedication.
  3. Is consistently effective in communication.
  4. Is available outside the classroom.
The Previous Winners are:
  • Dr. Ronald Deitrick (2013)
  • Dr. Georgios A. Stylianides (2012)
  • Dr. Michael A. Hardisky (2011)
  • Dr. Marlene J. Morgan (2010)
  • Dr. Jack O'Malley (2009)
  • Fr. Ron McKinney, S.J. (2008)
  • Dr. Daniel V. Fraustino (2007)
  • Dr. William J. Parente (2006)
  • Dr. Michael Sulzinski (2005)
  • Dr. Kathleen Montgomery (2004)
  • Dr. William Rowe (2003)
  • Dr. Michael D. DeMichele (2002)
  • Dr. Daniel P. Mahoney (2001)
  • Dr. Thomas P. Hogan (2000)
  • Dr. Gary E. Mattingly (1999)
  • Dr. Richard J. Klonoski (1998)
  • Dr. E. Springs Steele (1997)
Pride, Passion, Promise: Experience Our Jesuit Tradition