Staff Scnate tlight **Election Edition** September 2011 **Election Report** Kym Fetsko, Chair, Election & Membership Committee

With the 2011 Staff Senate Election now in the books, the Election and Member-

2011-12 Meeting Schedule

J

The Communications... Committee Presents...

Schedule October 5, 2011 November 2, 2011 December 14, 2011 January 25, 2012 February 22, 2012 March 21, 2012 April 18, 2012 May 16, 2012 All meeting are held in the PNC Board Room in Brennan Hall from 10:00am - 11:30am All staff members are welcome to attend	ships Committee would like to extend our congratulations to our newly elected Senators. Out of 800 employees, we were pleased to have 30 candidates agree to run in the 2011 election. The election results showed a participation rate of 59% for Clerical Staff, 33% for Professional Staff and 22% for MTTP (Maintenance/Trades/Technical/Public Safety), creating an overall average of 38% participation in our first all electronic election. We hope to increase these numbers in future elections and are open to suggestions among staff on how to accomplish this. In recent news, the Parking Office asked the Staff Senate to choose an employee to serve on the University's Parking Appeals Board. We received quite a few volunteers to serve on this panel and the staff member chosen was Corey Henfling in Residence Life. Lastly, the committee chose Janice Winslow to fill an open seat on the Sexual Har- assment Hearing Panel. We would like to thank all staff employees for your continued support and volun- teerism. 2011-2012 Staff Senators		
	Professional & Paraprofessional	Clerical	Maintenance, Trades, Technical & Public Safety
Executive Officers	Newly elected (2011-13)		
Mark Murphy President Meg Cullen-Brown	Meg Cullen-Brown Janine Freeman Anne Marie Stamford Joe Wetherell Jason Wimmer	Kym Fetsko Mary Rafter	Thomas Cawley Ray Gaylets Roger O'Malley Alex Wasalinko
President-elect	Returning (2010-12)		
Kym Fetsko Vice-President	Jim Franceschelli Denise Gurz	Lisa Bealla Tammi Cherra	Kathy Clause John Harris
Ray Gaylets Parliamentarian	Margaret Hynosky Catherine Mascelli Mark Murphy Monica Thomas	Barbara Eagen Nancy Laffey Diane Lang	Bill Pilger Pete Sakowski JoAnn Stavisky
Cathy Murphy Secretary	Alternates (2011-12)		
	Melissa Bevacqua Diane Jachimowicz	Susan Joy Falbo Cathy Murphy	Albert Clark Glen Pace

September 2011

Mark Murphy, President

President's Report

The campus is abuzz with new buildings, a new president, Fr. Quinn's inauguration, the start of the fall semester, and beginning our work as the 2011/2012 Staff Senate. The Staff Senate is entering its fourth year. The Staff Senate is an official part of the governance system of The University of Scranton. The senate consists of thirty-three members that represent over 650 full time and part time staff members. The opportunity to have a Staff Senate governance body was approved by the Board of Trustees over three years ago.

Many people may feel that the Staff Senate has not accomplished much in the summer months. However, from my position and experience, I feel we have accomplished much and are well prepared to begin this academic year. So what have we done? We have filled vacant senate positions, elected new officers, populated committees, and located chair persons for all committees. This sounds pretty simple. But how did we get to this point? Why is it so important within an organization that this is done well?

When any organization has a transition of members, the outcome can either strengthen or weaken the organization. The Senate's transitional process began in March when Kym Fetsko and her Election and Membership Committee ran a very professional all electronic election. By June, the new Senate was in place and during their first meeting filled vacant officer positions. The vacant officer positions were Vice President and President-elect. Meg-Cullen Brown, Assistant Dean Student Services and Advising, CGCE, was elected to the position of President-elect. This position has a one-year term and then the President-elect fills the position of President for two years. Kym Fetsko, Administrative Assistant, Weinberg Library, was elected to the position of Vice President. This position has a one-year term. Meg and Kym are both great communicators, very professional, and value team work. Congratulations and good luck to Meg and Kym as they begin their tenures as President and Vice President. Other officers of the Senate include: Ray Gaylets, Parliamentarian, Cathy Murphy, Secretary, and Mark Murphy, President.

Between June and July all Senate committees were populated and new committee chair persons were selected. The majority of work that is done by any organization is done by its committees under the leadership of their chairpersons. The Senate has many talented, experienced, caring and dedicated staff members. As I stated earlier, the Senate has accomplished much this summer. Putting a good team together, filling leadership positions, and defining the direction of the Senate for 2011/2012 is complete. We are well prepared, staffed, and eager to get things done. I am looking forward to seeing what we can accomplish and learn as a team in the coming year. Let's "Go and set the world on fire." Thank you to all members of the 2011/2012 Senate for their commitment to The University of Scranton.

Staff Senate Website

Communications Committee

The Staff Senate website is the site to visit for information regarding the Senate, including what it is, what it has accomplished, and what it hopes to accomplish. On the site you will find links to the Senate's Constitution and By-Laws, senators, meeting dates, agendas and minutes, up-coming events and activities, and current staff opportunities. The Senate welcomes any feedback about the website and will make every best effort to address constituents' concerns. Feedback and concerns can be directed to the Executive Committee by emailing staffsenate@scranton.edu. Please visit the website at: www.scranton.edu/staffsenate.

2011-2012 Staff Senate Committees & Chairs

Executive Mark Murphy

Election & Membership Kym Fetsko

By-Laws Ad Hoc Meg Cullen-Brown

Communications Diane Jachimowicz Jason Wimmer

Staff Development Cathy Mascelli

Social Events & Community Building Margaret Hynosky Tammi Cherra

Recognition & Excellence Awards Joe Wetherell

> **Finance** Kym Fetsko