Main Photo

Spring Sports Wrap-Up


Devon Cohen

Junior Devon Cohen played a major role in helping the women's tennis team repeat as Landmark Conference champions.  The Royals also advanced to the NCAA Division III tournament for the second straight year.

The baseball team went 23-20 under veteran head coach Mike Bartoletti and advanced to the Landmark Conference championship series for the third time in the past six seasons. The 23 wins marked the third straight year the Royals have won 20 or more games, the first time they’ve accomplished this feat in school history. Senior catcher Michael Amaturo received third-team All-Mid-Atlantic Region honors from Senior pitcher Corey Gorman was named Landmark Conference Pitcher of the Year and joined Amaturo and junior outfielder Michael Gaeta on the All-Landmark Conference first team.

Men’s Golf
The men’s golf team posted an impressive 12-0 record in dual match play, the team’s third undefeated season and the most victories the Royals have posted in those three seasons. The Royals also won three tournaments, including capturing their third straight Glenmaura National Collegiate Invitational crown, under the guidance of veteran head coachEd Karpovich. The team finished second at the Empire 8 Championships, its best conference finish since coming in second in the Freedom Conference Championships in 2007. Sophomore Erik Meyer earned first-team all-conference honors by tying for fifth place overall, while two other golfers--junior Charles Hudacek and freshman Eric Montella--earned second-team honors with top-10 finishes.

Men’s Lacrosse
The men’s lacrosse team went 8-7 under first-year head coach Doug Sage, and qualified for the Landmark Conference Tournament for the third straight season and fifth in the conference’s six-year history. Seven Royals earned all-conference honors, led by seniors Tim ClearyTaylor Nelson and Dillon McInerney, who earned first-team honors. Cleary was also named honorable mention All-American for the second straight season and to the Scholar All-American team, both by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). 

Women’s Lacrosse
The women’s lacrosse team posted a 9-6 record and reached the Landmark Conference Tournament for the third straight season and fourth in the conference’s six years. First-year head coach Cindy Wilson was named co-Coach of the Year in the conference, and seven players earned all-conference honors, including first-team accolades for senior Shannon Howe and sophomore Emily Goss. In addition to the conference honors, Goss and seniors Jilliana DePaolera,Kathleen Smart and Deanna Giorno were named second-team All-Boardwalk Region by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA).

The softball team posted a 13-18 record under second-year head coach Mia Collarini, marking the Royals’ sixth straight season of double-digit victories, the program’s longest such streak since an 18-year run from 1978-1995. Junior Caitlin McHenry earned first-team All-Landmark Conference honors after leading the team with eight home runs and 23 RBI. Sophomore Stephanie Romano also earned second-team all-conference accolades after posting a team-high .381 batting average.

Men’s Tennis
The men’s tennis team went 8-5 and reached the Landmark Conference Championship match for the fourth straight season. In the regular season, the Royals defeated Drew University, 5-4, to snap the Rangers’ 13-year, 110-match conference winning streak. Senior Tim McGurrin and junior David Teres each earned first-team all-conference honors in singles and doubles, while senior Joe Morra was named second team in singles and coach Keith Hetsko was named Coach of the Year.

Women’s Tennis
The women’s tennis team, led by veteran head coach Liz Sherman, captured its second straight Landmark Conference title and earned its second straight trip to the NCAA Tournament. The Royals went on to post their first NCAA Tournament victory by defeating LaRoche College, 5-0, in a first-round match before falling to 7th-ranked Johns Hopkins in the next round. Junior Devon Cohen earned first-team all-conference honors for her play in singles, sophomoresMegan Azzalina and Nicole Mahaffey earned second-team doubles honors, and freshman Emily Walsh was named Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year.