Skip to Page's ContentSkip to Top NavSkip to SearchSkip to FooterSkip to Class Notes Nav


Class Notes

Search Results

Joseph Agostinelli , D.P.M., Colonel , USAF , Retired ’77, Niceville, Florida, was elected president of the American Academy of Podiatric Sports Medicine for the 2021 calendar year. Dr. Agostinelli is an Emeritus Fellow of the academy. He is a noted author and lecturer on both conservative and surgical sports medicine treatments throughout the country.

Michael F. Cosgrove ’82, Dunmore, partner in the law firm of Haggerty Hinton & Cosgrove, LLP, is president-elect for the Lackawanna Bar Association and was elected president of The Friendly Sons of St. Patrick for 2021-22.

Marion Munley ’83, Moosic, a partner at Munley Law, recently spoke at the Attorneys Information Exchange Group’s (AIEG) 2020 Virtual Symposium on trucking accident litigation. Munley gave a virtual presentation on “Setting Up Your Trial Story.” The AIEG is “a national organization dedicated to sharing information and ideas among member attorneys for the benefit of clients who have been affected by dangerous and defective products.”
Frank R. DiMaio, M.D. ’84, Old Brookville, New York, an orthopedic joint replacement surgeon at St. Francis Hospital, has been named director of External Partnerships, Catholic Health Physicians partners, the full-time practice operated by the six hospitals of the Catholic Healthcare system of Long Island.

Judith Pinataro Castrogiovanni ’97, G’01 Moscow, principal of Jefferson Elementary School, Jefferson Township, in the North Pocono School District, has been named Pennsylvania’s 2021 National Distinguished Principal (NDP) by the Pennsylvania Principals Association. As a state winner in the National Association of Elementary School Principals’ (NAESP) National Distinguished Principal (NDP) Program, Castrogiovanni will be honored by NAESP and the PA Principals Association at special award ceremonies in the fall. 

Paul M. Collins, Ph.D. ’00, Amherst, Massachusetts, has received two grants from the National Science Foundation. The first, at $400,000, is for a team of faculty, graduate students and undergraduate students to examine how law and legality is understood in LGBTQ+ media. 

The grant will fund Collins and his team of researchers to study how legal issues rise and fall in the agendas of LGBTQ+ media, how the legal consciousness of the LGBTQ+ community develops over time and how legal decisions influence public awareness and attitudes toward law and legal actors. The team, including graduate and undergraduate students at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, will also develop and release two large, comprehensive datasets of specialized media coverage.  The second grant will fund a national conference which will be held at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 2023 that will give graduate students the opportunity to be mentored by leading scholars in the fields of law, politics and society. Collins is a Professor of Legal Studies and Political Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. His third book was recently published by Cambridge University Press, titled The President and the Supreme Court: Going Public on Judicial Decisions from Washington to Trump.

Tommy Noonan ’06, Darien, Connecticut, was promoted to partner at Butler Tibbetts Butler Tibbetts, a leading law firm known for guiding clients through their most vulnerable moments in business and in life. Noonan is a resourceful and versatile lawyer with a wide array of litigation experience. He represents individuals and businesses at both the trial and appellate levels, deploying creative and effective strategies customized to meet unique client needs from negotiations and mediation to litigation and trials. Noonan handles complex cases involving a broad range of sectors and scenarios focused primarily in the areas of healthcare and managed care, civil and commercial, construction, corporate, personal injury and probate.

Pictured from left to right: Michelle Mongillo ’09, Paige Agnello ’15, Holly Ehrnman ’00, Catherine Wojtowicz Parsells ’07, Maggie Coyne McNany ’12 and Ashlee Dunstan Haggerty ’05, G’06.

Six Scranton alumni, five of whom earned educational degrees and one who earned a counseling degree, are currently all working at Van Derveer Elementary School in the Somerville (New Jersey) Public School system. 

Table of Contents
Table of Contents
Contact Us
Copyright 2022 The University of Scranton. All Rights Reserved.