Office of Educational Assessment Staff


Dr. Mary Jane K. DiMattio, RN, Ph.D.

Director of the Office of Educational Assessment
Interim Coordinator of General Education Assessment

Dr. DiMattio, Professor of Nursing, has served as the inaugural OEA Director since its creation in spring 2014. Dr. DiMattio, an alumna of The University of Scranton, holds a master’s degree in Nursing Education from Villanova University, and a research-focused doctorate in Nursing from The University of Pennsylvania. She has served in a variety of capacities within and outside of the University in roles related to research, assessment, and continuous quality improvement. Most notably, Dr. DiMattio chaired the Nursing Department’s Evaluation Committee, charged with collecting, monitoring, and reporting outcome data for programmatic improvement and for the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education accreditation. In addition, she chaired the Quality Committee of the Board at Mercy Hospital and currently chairs the Board of Trustees at Regional Hospital of Scranton.  She also participated on the University committee that developed the initial draft ILOs in 2013. Having been a member of the Monitoring Report Coordinating Committee in spring 2014, Dr. DiMattio’s has helped maintain important continuity and institutional knowledge in the development of our assessment processes through and beyond the context of the Monitoring Report.



Prof. Nicholas P. Truncale, M.S.

Interim Coordinator of General Education Assessment and OEA Faculty Fellow

Prior to joining The University of Scranton faculty, Prof. Truncale was a systems engineer for Lockheed Martin working on the analytics of a complex technical system improving the quality of system performance.  Because of this work, he became very interested in assessment since he arrived at The University in 2012. Currently he serves as the elementary physics laboratory director and faculty specialist for the Department of Physics and Electrical Engineering.   Over the years he has reorganized and revitalized the physics lab and continually assesses the lab’s effectiveness through an assessment plan all teaching assistants and adjunct faculty follow.  Prof. Truncale participated in the pilot Intersession Assessment Group in 2014, assessing a GE Natural Science course “It’s Only Rocket Science” he developed. Since then he created a new course, Foundations of Physics and Engineering, which serves as his department’s first year Eloquentia Perfecta (EP) Level I oral communication and digital technology requirement. He assessed all of the EP student learning outcomes earning the course permanent EP status and also presented these assessment results at a physics education conference. He co-authored a physics program review, participated in a departmental student retention study, and “closed the loop” by helping to enact changes based upon the results of the retention study. A Faculty Assessment Fellow since 2014, he currently directs the Provost Assessment Scholars Program with more information about that found here:



Richard Walsh

Assistant Provost for Operations and Data Analytics Officer

Richard began his career at the University in 1998. Throughout his twenty-year employment, Richard has worked in numerous capacities starting as a Software/Database Development and Computer Programming instructor at our Center for Professional Training and Development. His expertise and leadership were considered an integral asset for the University to implement computer training for employees. Ten years ago, Richard transitioned to the Office of the Registrar. His many projects included converting and updating the student reporting system, Argos, and he initiated the digitalization of student records. More recently, Richard has focused his efforts in the areas of technology, budget, curriculum, and assessment within the Office of the Provost.


OEA Meeting Minutes

The OEA meets throughout the academic year. In addition to the OEA Directors and Faculty Assessment Fellows, these meetings include the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, the OEA Assessment Analyst, and representatives from the CTLE and CAS Dean's Office. Minutes from OEA meetings are available upon request from the OEA director.

Past Directors

Cyrus Olsen, Ph.D.

Dr. Olsen was appointed the University's first Director of Assessment for the General Education Program in September 2015 and completed his term in the summer of 2018. Dr. Olsen earned his bachelor's degree in the Comparative History of Ideas at the University of Washington, and his graduate degrees in Theology from Oxford University. Dr. Olsen is tenured in the Department of Theology/Religious Studies at the University of Scranton, where he has served since 2006.  His primary areas of academic research are on modern intellectual history, with an emphasis on the relationship between Christianity and culture. Dr. Olsen is also a Faculty Advisor in the College of Arts and Sciences, an active member of IACUC, and a participant in First Year Seminar for ADP students.  Dr. Olsen brings to this new role experience on the Faculty Senate Curriculum Committee, an interim Directorship of the MA in Theology/Religious Studies, as well as service for MIddle States committees specifically related to General Education.