Faculty Honors and Awards


Alperin Teaching Fellows

Dr. Satyajit Ghosh and Dr. Irene Goll have been named Alperin Teaching Fellows for the 2017-2020 academic years.
"Both colleagues are well-known for their rigor and their very effective pedagogical methods," said Dr. Michael Mensah, Dean of the Kania School. "Their students attest to this consistently and value their courses many years after graduation."
Dr. Ghosh, Professor of Economics, has taught in the Kania school since 1986. Until the summer of 2010, he was the chairperson of our Economics and Finance Department - a position he held for more than 15 years. He regularly provides expert's analysis on local and national economics issues for newspaper articles and television broadcasts.
Dr. Goll, Associate Professor of Management, joined the Kania school in 1988. In 2011, she was the recipient of the first William and Elizabeth Burkavage Fellowship in Business Ethics and Social Responsibility, which provides support to University faculty for research on sustainability, social responsibility and business ethics.

Curriculum Innovation Award

In Fall 2017, the Accounting Department faculty received the Kania School of Management Advisory Board's Award for Curriculum Innovation for the work they have done on the school's new Doctor of Business Administration program. The award recognizes faculty who propose and implement effective innovations and enhancements, particularly in interdisciplinary and integrated learning. "The Board was very impressed with the creativity, devotion and had work of the leadership and colleagues of the Accounting Department, and asked that we all join in congratulating that team for their accomplishments," Dr. Mensah said.

Awards for Research Papers

A study by Dr. Rose Sebastianelli and Dr. Nabil Tamimi entitled "Improving the Quality of Environmental Management: Impact on Shareholder Value" was selected as an Outstanding Paper in the 2016 Emerald Literati Awards for Excellence. The study was published in the International Journal of Quality and Reliability Management in 2015.

An article by Dr. Douglas Boyle, Dr. James Boyle and Dr. Brian Carpenter received a 2016 Lybrand Certificate of Merit. "The SEC Whistleblower Program Expands Focus: Retaliatory Behavior, Confidentiality Agreements, and Compliance Personnel" was published in the March 2016 issue of Strategic Finance.