Teacher of the Year

Dr. Daniel Haggerty: 2018 Teacher of the Year

Dr. Dan Haggerty - Teacher of the Year 2018Dr. Daniel Haggerty earned a BA in philosophy from Saint Joseph’s University (Philadelphia) and a Ph.D. in philosophy from Syracuse University. He is Professor of Philosophy and Director of the Special Jesuit Liberal Arts Honors Program at the University of Scranton. He has published several articles in scholarly journals and has made numerous peer-reviewed presentations in the areas moral psychology, social philosophy, and epistemology. His monograph, The Unholy Alliance of Science and Analytic Epistemology (Nova Science Publishers, 2011) traces the history of analytic epistemology from Hume through twenty-first century virtue epistemology. Dr. Haggerty is the recipient of several grants to foster undergraduate research and publication in philosophy. He is the recipient of the 2011 Alpha Sigma Nu Award for Teaching Excellence and the 2016 Ignatian Teaching Award (Magis Award) at The University of Scranton. Dr. Haggerty developed and teaches a mission-based travel course in Spain and Rome that follows in the footsteps of St. Ignatius of Loyola.

TOY Qualities

  • Dr. Karen Brady (2017)
  • Mrs. Patricia A. Wisniewski (2016)
  • Rev. Daniel Sweeney (2015)
  • Mr. John Ruddy (2014)
  • Dr. Ronald Deitrick (2013)
  • Dr. Georgios A. Stylianides (2012)
  • Dr. Michael Hardisky (2011)
  • Dr. Marlene J. Morgan (2010)
  • Dr. Jack O'Malley (2009)
  • Fr. Ron McKinney, S.J. (2008)
  • Dr. Daniel V. Fraustino (2007)
  • Dr. William J. Parente (2006)
  • Dr. Michael Sulzinski (2005)
  • Dr. Kathleen Montgomery (2004)
  • Dr. William Rowe (2003)
  • Dr. Michael D. DeMichele (2002)
  • Dr. Daniel P. Mahoney (2001)
  • Dr. Thomas P. Hogan (2000)
  • Dr. Gary E. Mattingly (1999)
  • Dr. Richard J. Klonoski (1998)
  • Dr. E. Springs Steele (1997)
Last Modified: May 10, 2018