S.T.E.M. Faculty Mentors

Below are some of the faculty members in the STEM disciplines and their research interests. 

These faculty members can work closely with students who are interested in carrying out research or independent projects in STEM through the Royal Scholars Program, the Magis Honors Program in STEM, the Honors Program, or through other programs on campus.  

Faculty

Yaodong Bi

Computing Sciences
yaodong.bi@scranton.edu
LSC 193

Operating Systems, Database Systems, Real-Time Systems, Software Engineering, Mobile Development.

Benjamin Bishop

Computing Sciences
benjamin.bishop@scranton.edu
LSC 171

Computer Graphics and Architecture.

Arthur Catino

Chemistry
arthur.catino@scranton.edu
LSC 491

My research is in organic chemistry and spans three major areas: 1) The synthesis of new molecular materials for high-tech applications, 2) the development of new methods for organic synthesis using boron, and 3) graduate-level chemical education in organic chemistry.

Michael Fennie

Chemistry
michael.fennie@scranton.edu
LSC 493

My students and I work in the area of organic synthesis, mainly on two types of projects. The first project aims to synthesize amino acids modified with infrared-distinct functional groups. These amino acids are used to study peptide and protein folding on very fast time scales. The second project aims to develop new, catalytic reactions to synthesize highly functionalized heterocycles from simple precursors. Heterocyclic compounds are important components of a variety of organic molecules. For more information, check out the student posters outside my office, or stop by!

Tim Foley

Chemistry
foleyt2@scranton.edu
LSC 353

Biochemistry of disease using cellular and animal models.

Jason Graham

Mathematics
jason.graham@scranton.edu
LSC 319A

I am interested in mathematical biology, scientific computing, and data analysis. I would be interested to work with any student who wants to use quantitative, mathematical, or computational techniques to solve problems in science.

Christopher Howey

Biology
christopher.howey@scranton.edu
LSC 251

My research investigates ecological, behavioral, and physiological effects of changing landscapes on reptiles and amphibians. Research projects range from investigating the habitat use of organisms to understanding how temperature affects performance to learning about how stress hormones are impacted by challenging events in our day-to-day lives (and much, much more).

Jakub Jasinski

Mathematics
jakub.jasinski@scranton.edu
LSC 311A

Mathematics, Calculus, Real Analysis, Mathematical Logic, Set Theory, Topology, Set-Theoretic Analysis.

Cara Krieg

Biology
cara.krieg@scranton.edu
LSC 374

I am a behavioral ecologist. My lab currently studies song and same-sex aggression in a local population of house wrens. The lab is focused on how evolution, ecology, physiology, and neurobiology shape these behaviors. I welcome students interested in field work from April-August as well as students interested in song analysis and lab work (hormone analysis, microscopy, etc.).

Rev. John Levko, S.J.

Mathematics
john.levko@scranton.edu
LSC 475

Explore topics in vector and tensor analysis; explore topics concerning “Fibonacci sequence and limits” as well as “symmetric functions”

Mohammad Maktoomi

Physics/EE
mohammad.maktoomi@scranton.edu
LSC 154

I work in the area of RF/Microwave circuit design. Specifically, I work on the design of multiband/wideband passive components and power amplifiers for 5G applications. I also have research interests in RF energy harvesting. The students working with me will learn the fundamentals of RF/Microwave engineering and will get the opportunity to work on industries leading CAD tools such as NI AWR and Keysight ADS.

Declan Mulhall

Physics
declan.mulhall@scranton.edu
LSC 294

Developing and testing new labs to measure fundamental physics quantities. Help with coding to analyze nuclear physics data.

Krzysztof Plotka

Mathematics
krzysztof.plotka@scranton.edu
LSC 311B

Set Theory and its applications to Real Analysis and Topology; Combinatorics.

Anne Royer

Biology
anne.royer@scranton.edu
LSC 351

My research includes population genetics and evolutionary ecology. I currently have student projects that include DNA extraction and amplification in timber rattlesnakes and migratory birds, genetic analyses in rattlesnakes, and experimental crosses and floral measurements in square-stemmed monkeyflower.

Marc Seid

Biology & Neuroscience
marc.seid@scranton.edu
LSC 274

I study the neuromechanisms of behavior with specific interest in developmental processes that shape brain structures and neurochemistry. I am also interested in evolutionary interactions between organisms and their microbiomes. I use ants as my model.

Juan Serna

Physics/EE
juan.serna@scranton.edu
LSC 172

I do theoretical/computational research in mathematical physics, classical and quantum mechanics, and optics. I also do experimental research in optics and quantum optics.

Nicholas Sizemore

Chemistry
nicholas.sizemore@scranton.edu
LSC 492

Synthetic organic chemistry; Physical organic chemistry

Robert Smith

Biology
robert.smith@scranton.edu
LSC 252

Ecology and ecophysiology of landbird migration, feather coloration, invertebrate diversity and vegetation (especially native vs. nonnative vegetation), bioacoustics of both landbirds and owls.

Jong-Hyun Son

Biology & Neuroscience
jong-hyun.son@scranton.edu
LSC 372

My research focuses on mechanisms of neurodevelopmental and diseases related to the dysfunctional CNS development using the zebrafish model. Currently, I am applying cellular, molecular, and behavioral strategies to study the hypoxia effects on the brain connectivity (e.g., axon pathfinding and synaptic connectivity) and diseases of development, particularly prematurity and cerebral palsy.

Robert Spalletta

Physics
robert.spalletta@scranton.edu
LSC 155

Atomic Force Microscope (AFM) studies of biological samples and AFM studies of graphene. Embedded systems and robotics design, particularly in injury and disability mitigation.

Kate Stumpo

Chemistry
katherine.stumpo@scranton.edu
LSC 454

Analytical chemistry, broad projects and interests.

Terrence Sweeney

Biology
terrence.sweeney@scranton.edu
LSC 275

I currently work on the further development and use of my patented device, the Scranton Cardiovascular Model or SCM. The SCM is a computer-assisted, water-pumping mechanical model of the cardiovascular system. The model is primarily directed at facilitating the learning of cardiovascular concepts. This dynamic, visual, and tactile system provides the student with a rich instructional tool for investigating and learning cardiovascular physiology at many levels of instruction and education. Ongoing projects are focused on both engineering and application. Engineering projects are directed at both expansion of the model's capabilities and simplification of its use. Application projects are directed at developing protocols for the model's use that target specific student audiences, from high school to professional school.

Nicholas Truncale

Physics/EE
nicholas.truncale@scranton.edu
LSC 152

I am interested in simulation and data analyses using the Python programming language in a variety of disciplines (physics, biophysics, engineering, robotics, data analytics). I am also interested in creating unique science demonstrations and/or experiments that may utilize basic micro-controllers like the Raspberry Pi and Arduino.

Janice Voltzow

Biology
janice.voltzow@scranton.edu
LSC 255

My research focuses on the relationship between structure and function in marine invertebrates, especially gastropods, or snails. We have also been looking at the effects of climate change on other invertebrates, including sea anemones and shrimp.

Robert Waldeck

Biology & Neuroscience
robert.waldeck@scranton.edu
LSC 273

I examine synaptic modification or what is called neuroplasticity in normal conditions and in pathological conditions such as trauma or degeneration. I use invertebrate and vertebrate animal models and carry out behavior, histological, and electrophysiological techniques to better understand the mechanisms underlying the ability of the nervous system to change.