Sigma Tau Delta

National Honor Society in English founded in 1924.  This organization is for students who major or minor in English, Theatre or Secondary Education/English with a grade point average of 3.4 or better in English, Theatre and Writing courses and an overall grade point average of 3.4 or better.  The University's Mu Omicron chapter first met in April 1980. Moderator is Dr. Billie Tadros.

On May 5, 2019 in Brennan 509, The Rose Room, the University of Scranton welcomed eight new members to their Mu Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta.  Anna C. DiGiovine, Nia E. Moore, Devon L. Dorbich, Amanda B. Tolvaisa, Danielle F. Saranchak, Mary R. Purcell, Alexa D. Romberger and Dr. Billie R. Tadros were hornored in an Induction Ceremony.  The guest speaker and new inductee was Dr. Billie R. Tadros.

Click here to see photos of Induction Ceremony.



2019-2020 Common Reader is "RED: Passion and Patience in the Dessert" by Terry Tempest Williams.

 2020 Sigma Tau Delta Convention will be held from March 25-28, 2020 in Las Vegas, NV.

June 11, 2019


Members of the University of Scranton's chapter with support from the Jesuit Center, presented a Round Table titled, "Peck Small Tracks": A Jesuit reading of Tess Taylor's Work & Days and Pope Francis's Laudato Si', 5:30 p.m. Thursday in Brennan Hall, the Rose Room.  The event was free and open to the public. In attendance were members of our faculty, staff and students and a fun time was had by all. 

Good luck to Cara Charles, Emily Carr, Phyllida Whittaker, Matthew Criscione and David Rakauskas as they will represent The University at this years convention held in St. Louis, MO.

2019_round_table     2019_round_table     2019_round_table



Pictured from left to right: Phyllida Whittaker, Emily Carr, Dr. Billie Tadros, Matthew Criscione, David Rakauskas.  Sitting: Cara Charles.

March 8, 2019
     Five of our Sigma Tau Members; Emily Carr, Cara Charles, Matthew Criscione, David Rakauskas and Phyllida Whittaker have been meeting weekly with Dr. Billie Tadros to develop a round table discussion exploring Work and Days, this year's Common Reader, through the lens of Laudato Si. Pope Francis' encyclical on the environment.  As a result of this extra-curricular work, the students are planning an on-campus round table followed by a presentation at this year's convention in St. Louis.  Accordingly, they have submitted a round table proposal to the convention organizers and applied for a U of S Humanities Initiative Undergraduate Award for Humanistic Inquiry to support their travel.  Cara Charles and David Rakauskas, also individually mentored by Dr. Tadros, have also submitted proposals to present individual papers at the Convention and have applied for Undergraduate Awards for Humanistic Inquiry to fund these presentations.  
(Pictured from top left; David Rakauskas, Dr. Billie Tadros, Cara Charles, top right; Dr. Rebecca Beal, Matthew Criscione, Emily Carr, Phyllida Whittaker)
November 28, 2018

Elected Officers for the 2018-2019 AY

                                                                          President:     Ms. Cara Charles
                                                                 Vice President:      Mr. David Rakauskas
                                                                         Treasurer:      Ms. Ali Basalyga
                                                                         Secretary:      Ms. Emily Carr
                                                                         Historian:      Ms. Victoria Pennington
                                                             Public Relations:      Ms. Phyllida Whittaker

June 6, 2018

     The 2017-2018 Sigma Tau Delta Annual Convention was held in Cincinnati, OH.  We were honored to be represented at the convention by three of our student members who read their original works:   Peter Shaver ("Unknow American Town"), Erica Westlake ("Woolf as a Guide to Re-Create Antoinette Mason"), and Daniel O'Reilly ("Stumbling through Service").  Our local Mu Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the Department of English & Theatre, the CAS Dean, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs together fully funded this important work.

 Shaver       OReilly       Westlake


March 2018

                                      Elected Officers for the 2017 - 2018 AY

                                                           President:     Ms. Cara Charles  
              Vice President/Director of Outreach:     Mr. Daniel O'Reilly
                                                           Treasurer:     Ms. Caleigh Wildenstein
                                                           Secretary:     Ms. Kathleen Heslin
                                                            Historian:     Ms. Erica Westlake
September 27, 2017

     In 2016, Sigma Tau Delta held its annual convention in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Three of our student members traveled to read their original work: Elizabeth Polishan ("Mythology and Maritime Archaeology: Molly as Calypso", "The other side of Despair"), Peter Shaver ("'Ode to a Nightingale 'and' A Darkling Thrush'") and Cailin Potami ("'My Dear Mother': Female Bonding in All's Well'") which won 1st place in a special categry of essays on Shakespeare.  Our local Mu Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the Department of English & Theatre, the CAS Dean, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs together fully funded this important work.

STD 2016

Louisville, Kentucky was the setting for the 2017 Sigma Tau Delta Convention.  With support from our local Mu Omicron chapter, the Department of English & Theatre, the CAS Dean's Office and the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, four of our students were fully funded for their original work.  Peter Shaver ("Caliban and Friday:  Affirmations of Colonialism"), Elizabeth Polishan ("The Stranger"), Christa Howarth ("Tolkien, Hagiographer and Sub-creator") and Alex Wasalinko ("Appropriation Writing: Take to (Re)Create").

STD 2017 guest speaker.JPG
Featured Speaker - Marlon James
gala dinner
Click here to see more photos and read about what our Sigma Tau Delta members are up to.