Title IX

Title IX states that, "No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity receiving Federal , financial assistance." Title IX prohibits a recipient from discriminating on the basis of sex in admissions, recruitment, financial aid, academic programs student treatment and services, counseling and guidance, discipline, classroom assignment, grading, vocational, education, recreation, physical education, athletics, housing and employment. Sexual harassment is also a form of gender discrimination.

University Interim Title IX Coordinator:

Christine M. Black, JD
Assistant Director
Office of Equity and Diversity
Ph: 570-941-6645  Fax: 570-941-6304

University Deputy Title IX  Coordinator

Ms. Lauren Rivera, J.D., M.Ed. 
Assistant Vice President and Dean of Students
Division of Student  Life
Phone: 570-941-7680

University Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Patricia L. Tetreault, SHRM-SCP, SPHR
Vice President for Human Resources
The University of Scranton
Suite 100, St. Thomas Hall
Scranton, PA  18510

Title IX Workgroup

The Title IX Workgroup includes a cross section of faculty, staff and students at the University. In our commitment to providing a safe, welcoming educational and working environment for our campus community, the Title IX Workgroup  

  • researches legal compliance standards and best practices
  • offers recommendations for policies and reporting procedures
  • creates and implements prevention programs
  • coordinates resources to support students and employees on and off campus
  • raises awareness of issues related to gender based harassment and violence through drafting printed materials and participating in special events

Members of the Title IX Workgroup

Christine M. Black, University Interim Title IX Coordinator

Lauren Rivera, University Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Patricia Tetreault,  University Deputy Title IX Coordinator

Gerianne Barber

Marian Farrell

Jean Harris

Brian P. Kilner

Maria Marinucci

Jason Oakey

Jennifer Pennington