History Department

Faculty

Headshot of Sean Brennan

Sean Brennan

Associate Professor
brennans3@scranton.edu
PhD, University of Notre Dame, 2009

Modern Europe and Modern Russia, European political, diplomatic, and religious history

Headshot of Michael D. DeMichele

Michael D. DeMichele

Professor

PhD, Penn State University, 1967
demichelem1@scranton.edu

visit website

Modern Europe, England, Ethnic Studies.

Headshot of Roy P. Domenico

Roy P. Domenico

Professor

PhD, Rutgers University, 1987
domenicor2@scranton.edu

visit website

19th- and 20th-century European political and cultural, Italy

Headshot of Josephine M. Dunn

Josephine M. Dunn

Professor

PhD, University of Pennsylvania, 1991
dunnj1@scranton.edu

Art History, Oral History, European cultural.

Headshot of David J. Dzurec III

David J. Dzurec III

Chair and Associate Professor

david.dzurec@scranton.edu
PhD, Ohio State University, 2008

visit website

Early United States, U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. Environmental, American Jesuits

Headshot of Shuhua Fan

Shuhua Fan

Associate Professor

PhD, University of North Carolina, 2007
fans2@scranton.edu

Asian/East Asian/Chinese History, US-China Relations, Women in modern China, World History

Headshot of Lawrence W. Kennedy

Lawrence W. Kennedy

Professor

PhD, Boston College, 1987
kennedyl1@scranton.edu

visit website

U.S. History, Gilded Age, Progressive Era, urban, race and ethnicity; Modern Irish History

Headshot of Aiala Levy

Aiala Levy

Visiting Assistant Professor

Ph.D. University of Chicago, 2016
aiala.levy@scranton.edu

Latin America, Atlantic World, world history, digital history

Headshot of Lee M. Penyak (ON LEAVE 2016-2018)

Lee M. Penyak (ON LEAVE 2016-2018)

Professor

PhD, University of Connecticut, 1993
penyakl2@scranton.edu

Latin America and Mexico, religion, gender

Headshot of Susan Poulson

Susan Poulson

Professor

PhD, Georgetown University, 1990
poulsons1@scranton.edu

Recent America, American women

Headshot of Adam J. Pratt

Adam J. Pratt

Assistant Professor

PhD, Louisiana State University, 2012
adam.pratt@scranton.edu

19th Century U.S. History, Civil War, Military

Headshot of Robert W. Shaffern

Robert W. Shaffern

Professor

PhD, University of Notre Dame, 1992
shaffernr1@scranton.edu

visit website

Ancient, Medieval, early modern Europe

Headshot of W. Jeffrey Welsh

W. Jeffrey Welsh

Professor

PhD, Bowling Green University, 1982; IEM College of Education, Harvard University, 2002
william.welsh@scranton.edu

American Colonies, U.S. Business History, Public History

Headshot of Willis M. Conover

Willis M. Conover

Professor Emeritus

EdD, Montana State University, 1978
conoverw1@scranton.edu

U.S. History, American West, geography

Headshot of Francis X.J. Homer

Francis X.J. Homer

Professor Emeritus and University Historian

PhD, University of Virginia, 1971
homerf1@scranton.edu

Modern Europe, modern England, European diplomatic history

Headshot of Robert F. Hueston

Robert F. Hueston

Professor Emeritus

PhD, University of Notre Dame, 1972
hueston@scranton.edu

American cultural and intellectual, American diplomatic,immigration history

Department Staff

Jennifer Kretsch

Faculty Secretary

History
jennifer.kretsch@scranton.edu
STT 309