Sigma Tau Delta

                                      Elected Officers for the 2017 - 2018 AY

                                                           President:     Ms. Cara Charles  
              Vice President/Director of Outreach:     Mr. Daniel O'Reilly
                                                           Treasurer:     Ms. Caleigh Wildenstein
                                                           Secretary:     Ms. Kathleen Heslin
                                                            Historian:     Ms. Erica Westlake
September 27, 2017

     National Honor Society in English founded in 1924.  This organization is for students who major or minor in English, Theatre or Secondary Education/English with a grade point average of 3.5 or better in English, Theatre and Writing courses and an overall grade point average of 3.4 or better.  The University's Mu Omicron chapter first met in April 1980.  Moderator: Dr. Rebecca Beal-

     In 2016, Sigma Tau Delta held its annual convention in Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Three of our student members traveled to read their original work: Elizabeth Polishan ("Mythology and Maritime Archaeology: Molly as Calypso", "The other side of Despair"), Peter Shaver ("'Ode to a Nightingale 'and' A Darkling Thrush'") and Cailin Potami ("'My Dear Mother': Female Bonding in All's Well'") which won 1st place in a special categry of essays on Shakespeare.  Our local Mu Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the Department of English & Theatre, the CAS Dean, the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs together fully funded this important work.

STD 2016 convention.jpg
Award night and Gala dinner

Louisville, Kentucky was the setting for the 2017 Sigma Tau Delta Convention.  With support from our local Mu Omicron chapter, the Department of English & Theatre, the CAS Dean's Office and the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, four of our students were fully funded for their original work.  Peter Shaver ("Caliban and Friday:  Affirmations of Colonialism"), Elizabeth Polishan ("The Stranger"), Christa Howarth ("Tolkien, Hagiographer and Sub-creator") and Alex Wasalinko ("Appropriation Writing: Take to (Re)Create").

STD 2017 guest speaker.JPG
Featured Speaker - Marlon James
gala dinner
Click here to see more photos and read about what our Sigma Tau Delta members are up to.